Navigation on the site:

Free Full Download Ella Fitzgerald - Sings The Duke Ellington Song Book (1957)

Apps | Graphics | Games | Movies | Tv Series | Music | Magazines | Ebooks | Mobile

Ella Fitzgerald - Sings The Duke Ellington Song Book (1957)

Ella Fitzgerald - Sings The Duke Ellington Song Book (1957)

Ella Fitzgerald - Sings The Duke Ellington Song Book (1957)
EAC rip | 3CD | FLAC - Log - Cue | Covers | Release: 1957 | 1.08 GB
Genre: Jazz

While legends such as Billie Holiday and Count Basie made their greatest impact with visceral, blues-soaked statements, Ella Fitzgerald and Duke Ellington succeeded by lending their work unmatched grace and precision. This is a roundabout way of saying that no one is better suited to interpret the Duke than Ella, and the evidence is contained within these three CDs. Discs 1 and 3, recorded in June 1957, feature the support of the full Ellington band and are a complete joy, from Fitzgerald's terrific scat vocal on "Rockin' in Rhythm" through the extended four-part suite "Portrait of Ella Fitzgerlad," which adds Ellington's spoken observations and Billy Strayhorn's piano accents. However, the real highlight is the middle disc, recorded in the fall of that year, which finds Ella fronting a small band boasting Ellington's former tenor star Ben Webster. Most of this disc includes wonderful violin from Stuff Smith and supple guitar from Barney Kessel; the remaining cuts feature Oscar Peterson's trio. Of particular note are the three warming Ella-Kessel duets and the consistently charming work of Webster. By combining big-band and small-band sides, this collection emphasizes the flexibility of both Ellington's songs and Fitzgerald's interpretive powers. The sound quality of disc 2 is overall the best. Never the less, discs 1 and 3 are also high lights seen from a historical point of view. Remaster engineer Dennis Drake has done another outstanding job with this 3-disc box set !!!

Track List:

Disc One
1. "Rockin' in Rhythm" (Harry Carney, Duke Ellington, Irving Mills) - 5:17
2. "Drop Me Off in Harlem" (Nick Kenny) - 3:48
3. "Day Dream" (John La Touche, Billy Strayhorn) - 3:56
4. "Caravan" (Mills, Juan Tizol) - 3:51
5. "Take the "A" Train" (Strayhorn) - 6:37
6. "I Ain't Got Nothin' But the Blues" (Don George) - 4:39
7. "Clementine" (Strayhorn) - 2:37
8. "I Didn't Know About You" (Bob Russell) - 4:10
9. "I'm Beginning to See the Light" (Don George, Johnny Hodges, Harry James) - 3:24
10. "Lost in Meditation" (Mills, Lou Singer, Tizol) - 3:24
11. "Perdido" (Ervin Drake, H.J Lengsfelder, Tizol) - 6:10
12. "Cotton Tail" (Duke Ellington) - 3:23
13. "Do Nothin' Till You Hear from Me" (Russell) - 7:38
14. "Just A-Sittin' and A-Rockin'" (Lee Gaines, Strayhorn) - 3:30
15. "(In My) Solitude" (Eddie DeLange, Duke Ellington, Irving Mills) - 2:04
16. "Rocks in My Bed" - 3:56
17. "Satin Doll" (Johnny Mercer, Strayhorn) - 3:26
18. "Sophisticated Lady" (Mitchell Parish) - 5:18
Disc Two
1. "Just Squeeze Me (But Please Don't Tease Me)" (Gaines) - 4:13
2. "It Don't Mean a Thing (If It Ain't Got That Swing)" (Mills) - 4:12
3. "Azure" (Mills) - 2:18
4. "I Let a Song Go Out of My Heart" (Mills, Henry Nemo, John Redmond) - 4:08
5. "In a Sentimental Mood" (Manny Kurtz, Mills) - 2:44
6. "Don't Get Around Much Anymore" (Russell) - 4:59
7. "Prelude to a Kiss" (Mack Gordon, Mills) - 5:26
8. "Mood Indigo" (Barney Bigard, Mills) - 3:24
9. "In a Mellow Tone" (Milt Gabler) - 5:07
10. "Love You Madly" - 4:37
11. "Lush Life" (Strayhorn) - 3:37
12. "Squatty Roo" (Hodges) - 3:38
13. "I'm Just a Lucky So-and-So" (Mack David) - 4:12
14. "All Too Soon" (Carl Sigman) - 4:22
15. "Everything But You" (George, James) - 2:53
16. "I Got it Bad (And That Ain't Good)" (Paul Francis Webster) - 6:11
17. "Bli-Blip" (Sid Kuller) - 3:01
Disc Three
1. "Chelsea Bridge" (Strayhorn) - 3:20
2. "Portrait of Ella Fitzgerald" (Strayhorn) - 16:10:
* First Movement: "Royal Ancestry"
* Second Movement: "All Heart"
* Third Movement: "Beyond Category"
* Fourth Movement: "Total Jazz"
3. "The E and D Blues" (E for Ella, D for Duke) (Strayhorn) - 4:48
Bonus Tracks; Issued on the Verve 1999 3CD re-issue, Verve 314 559 248-2
4. to 11. "Chelsea Bridge" (Rehearsal tracks)
12. "All Heart" (Rehearsal) - 3:54
13. "All Heart" (Alternative take I) - 3:33
14. "All Heart" (Alternative take II) - 3:22
15. "All Heart" (Alternative take III) - 3:25

Download links:






Related Articles:

free download Ella Fitzgerald - Sings The Duke Ellington Song Book (1957).Ella Fitzgerald - Sings The Duke Ellington Song Book (1957) full from nitroflare rapidgator uploaded turbobit extabit ryushare openload littlebyte zippyshare.

Site Info:

This source is to facilitate web designers programmers coders etc. A big selection of themes scripts fonts icons vectors nulled php templates css cms psd modules plugins presets related to wordpress joomla lightroom networking hosting social media designed by the specialized teams like codecanyon themeforest graphicriver activeden envato mojo videohive pixeden creativemarket.
All the downloading links related to movies, games, tvshows, music and graphics are hosted on other sites like nitroflare, rapidgator, openload etc.

Sitemap | RSS | Contact US | DMCA Policy |